Football: 5 English clubs reportedly sign up to breakaway league

MANCHESTER: Five English clubs have signed up to a breakaway European Super League, The Times newspaper reported on Sunday (Apr 18).

The paper said Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur have agreed to join the new league.

The only member of the “big six” not to have signed up is Manchester City, the paper said, citing sources with knowledge of the development.

READ: Serie A calls emergency meeting after breakaway Super League report – source

Italy’s Serie A held an emergency board meeting on Sunday after reports that three leading clubs, Juventus, Inter Milan and AC Milan, along with broadcaster DAZN, had been involved in the European Super League talks.

Source link